Site Overlay


Charity is one of the three pillars of Freemasonry.

Freemasons are taught to practise charity and to care, not only for their own, but also for the community as a whole – both by charitable giving, and by voluntary efforts and works as individuals.

Both the Lodge and the Chapter regularly support the four great Masonic charities:

The Grand Charity

The Royal Masonic Trust for Girls and Boys

The Royal Masonic Benevolent Institution

The Masonic Samaritan Fund

For more information about Freemasonry and Charity please see the Metropolitan Grand Lodge Website

Freemasonry is the UK’s single largest donor to charity after the National Lottery.

More specifically, in the period January 2013 to January 2020 the Lodge and Chapter together have donated a total of £31,515 to no fewer than 28 separate charities. A summary of those donations comprises:

Total donations exceeding £5,000

Prince Michael of Kent Court Hospice

Total donations exceeding £3,000

Noah’s Ark Childrens Hospice

Total donations exceeding £2,000

Cancer Research, Metropolitan Grand Lodge Charity appeal, Paul Strickland Scanner Appeal, Royal Masonic Benevolent Institution

Total donations exceeding £1,000

Great Ormond Street Hospital, Macmillan Cancer Research, Royal College of Surgeons, Willow Foundation

Individual donations of under £1,000

Alzheimer’s Society, British Diabetic Association, British Heart Foundation, Children’s Cancer and Leukemia, Harrow MS Centre, Help for Heroes, Imperial Cancer Research, Life Lights Children’s Charity, London Air Ambulance Appeal, London Fire Brigade extended ladder appliance appeal, MTS PHAB Club, Masonic Province of Oxforshire Appeal, Middlesex Hospital Nurses Fund, Music for Autism, Portishead Lifeboat Trust, Prostate Cancer Research, Tuberculosis Society, Wales Autism Research and Watford Mencap.

Members or any OMT wishing to make charitable donations to either the Lodge or Chapter Relief Chests can do so by following the these procedures:

Charitable donations should be made through the Just Giving website using the following link

Procedure is as follows:

Highlight the link above

In search box type either L1820 or C1820

Lodge/Chapter chest box name then appears

Click “view this chest”

Click “Donate securely” box

Complete the amount you wish to donate and BEWARE the automatic voluntary 15% additional contribution box (this goes to Just Giving!!). If required, change the 15% to the “other” option and enter a reasonable monetary sum e.g £1 or similar and complete processes as noted on the screen to record your personal details for gift aid (if applicable) purposes.